AI B2B SaaS
Agentic Arbitrage: What Gartner’s Forecast Does and Doesn’t Say
Agentic arbitrage is the term Gartner uses in a release dated 1 July 2026 that puts a number on how AI agents could affect enterprise software spending. The number is large and widely repeated, but the release says little about how it was reached. This article sets out what Gartner states, what it leaves unstated, and how to cite the forecast without turning it into a finding.
Key takeaways
- Agentic arbitrage, as Gartner defines it, is AI agents completing tasks across several systems and reducing the need for people to use each traditional software interface.
- Gartner’s agentic arbitrage estimate is up to $234 billion of enterprise application spending exposed between now and 2030, about 20% of enterprise application SaaS spending by 2030. It is a forecast, and the release text states no method, sample or base figure.
- The release describes the spending as exposed or at risk. It does not say the money will be lost, and it does not say whether the $234 billion is an annual or a cumulative amount.
- Gartner links agentic arbitrage to seat-based pricing, saying it breaks the link between user growth and revenue growth for many enterprise software vendors.
- Gartner advises vendors to move from interface-based value to outcome-based value. A CIO article reports the same analyst advising buyers to check API access, vendor terms on autonomous use, and who owns what an AI system learns.
What agentic arbitrage means
Agentic arbitrage is Gartner’s name for an effect on enterprise software: AI agents completing work across several systems, so people have less need to use each application’s interface.
Gartner’s release defines it as AI agents completing tasks across multiple systems, which reduces the need for users to interact with multiple traditional software interfaces. Its analyst George Brocklehurst, a Managing Vice President at Gartner, says agentic systems deliver outcomes directly, bypass user-experience-heavy applications and make the software invisible. The release does not describe software as going away. It says SaaS will not be destroyed and will emerge in a different form.
What Gartner’s agentic arbitrage forecast says
Gartner estimates that up to $234 billion of enterprise application spending is exposed to agentic arbitrage between now and 2030.
The release, dated 1 July 2026, adds that by 2030 this will account for roughly 20% of enterprise application SaaS spending. The wording matters in two ways. A ceiling of up to $234 billion is not a central estimate, and exposed describes risk rather than realised loss. The release headline uses at risk in the same sense.
- Claim
- Up to $234 billion of enterprise application spending is exposed to agentic arbitrage between now and 2030, roughly 20% of enterprise application SaaS spending by 2030.
- Claim type
- Forecast (analyst estimate)
- Original source
- Gartner press release
- Publication date
- 1 July 2026
- Research or measurement date
- Not stated in the release.
- Sample and population
- Not stated in the release. The spending named is enterprise application software and SaaS spending.
- Method or definition
- Method not stated in the release. Gartner defines agentic arbitrage as AI agents completing tasks across multiple systems, reducing the need for users to interact with multiple traditional software interfaces.
- Limitations
- A forecast to 2030, not a measurement. The release does not state whether $234 billion is annual or cumulative, or the base spending behind the 20%. No published measurement of this forecast was found as of 29 October 2026.
- Editorial interpretation
- Editorial analysis: cite it as a Gartner estimate of exposure with its 2030 window, not as spending that will be lost.
What the release does not say about agentic arbitrage
The release leaves several questions open, and some published coverage fills those gaps with statements Gartner does not make.
As published, the release text does not describe a method, a sample or a base year. It does not state the total spending that the 20% refers to, and it does not say whether $234 billion is an annual or a cumulative amount.
On the term itself, Gartner uses it in the release, and a Gartner research abstract dated 30 June 2026 carries it in its title, one day earlier. The full research is paywalled and was not reviewed, so the abstract adds no method. The release does not claim that Gartner coined the phrase, and this article does not claim it either. Gartner’s own materials also vary in wording: the release headline says at risk, its body says exposed, and the abstract summary describes up to 20% of spend as exposed to displacement. None of these is a measurement of spending that has already moved.
A CIO article published on 2 July 2026 that quotes the same Gartner analyst does not add a method or a base figure either.
The table compares statements seen in some published coverage with what the release says.
Scroll sideways to see all columns.
| Statement seen in some coverage | What the release says | How this article treats it |
|---|---|---|
| The $234 billion is cumulative, not annual | It gives a window, between now and 2030, and does not say whether the amount is annual or cumulative. | Not stated as fact. Treated as an open question. |
| The other 80% of spend is untouched | It says the exposure is roughly 20% of enterprise application SaaS spending by 2030. It makes no statement about the remainder. | Not stated. |
| Agentic AI will cut buyers’ software costs | It describes spending exposed for software vendors. It does not state a saving for buyers. | Not stated. |
| Gartner coined the term agentic arbitrage | It uses the term and does not claim first use. | Not stated. Origin not established. |
How agentic arbitrage connects to seat-based pricing
Gartner’s explanation for the exposure is that agentic arbitrage weakens the link between how many people use enterprise software and how much its vendors earn.
The release headline says agentic arbitrage breaks the traditional SaaS seat-license model. In the release, Brocklehurst says agentic systems break the link between user growth and revenue growth for many enterprise software vendors. It names vendors defending legacy dashboards and seat-based models as facing an existential threat, and it describes a revenue opportunity for vendors that enable agentic cross-domain workflows.
Gartner describes the overall shift as “less an apocalypse and more of a metamorphosis,” and says SaaS will emerge in a different form.
This is Gartner’s reasoning rather than a measured result. This article does not test it against seat-pricing data, which would need separate, verified evidence.
What Gartner tells vendors and buyers to do
Gartner’s advice splits by audience: vendors are told to move from interface-based value to outcome-based value, and buyers are told to check how agents can use the software they already own.
For vendors, the release says incumbents must move from interface-based value to outcome-based value, embed agentic capabilities at the point of execution, and capture and retain customer-specific knowledge, not just data. It says AI-native startups and service providers can act as the agentic layer across enterprise systems. It also notes that some vendors already offer autonomous end-to-end workflow execution, which today typically needs heavy services engagement.
For buyers, the CIO article reports advice from the same analyst. Organisations should check whether an agent can do through a system’s API everything a person can do through its screens, and whether the vendor’s terms permit it. Vendor terms can restrict third-party autonomous use, so contracts deserve as much scrutiny as the technology, and agent permissions are best negotiated into agreements now. The article also describes Gartner’s Knowledge Retention Rate, an organisation’s ability to retain what AI systems learn from its operations, and says the key contract question is who owns what the system learns from the customer. Gartner also advised treating agent autonomy as an explicit governance decision: where agents may act independently, who authorises it, and how often permissions are reviewed.
- Claim
- Buyers should check whether an agent can do through a system’s API everything a person can do through its screens, check vendor terms on autonomous use, and treat agent autonomy as a governance decision.
- Claim type
- Opinion (expert guidance reported by a news outlet)
- Original source
- CIO
- Publication date
- 2 July 2026
- Research or measurement date
- Not applicable. The guidance comes from an interview.
- Sample and population
- One Gartner Managing Vice President, George Brocklehurst, speaking to CIO.
- Method or definition
- Interview reported in a news article. No method is described.
- Limitations
- One analyst’s guidance as reported by one outlet. It has not been tested or measured here.
- Editorial interpretation
- Editorial interpretation: these are practical checks for software buyers, not measured outcomes.
Editorial analysis
The useful reading of this forecast is narrow. It supports the statement that Gartner expects AI agents to reduce how often people use each application, and that it links this to pressure on seat-based pricing. It does not support a statement that $234 billion will be lost, that 20% of the market will disappear, or that the spending has been measured. Any article, slide or board paper that cites the figure should keep three items together: the Gartner attribution, the 2030 window, and the word estimate or forecast. This is the publication’s own interpretation, not a Gartner finding.
Frequently asked questions
What is agentic arbitrage?
Agentic arbitrage is Gartner’s term for AI agents completing tasks across multiple systems, which reduces the need for users to interact with multiple traditional software interfaces.
Who coined the term agentic arbitrage?
The sources reviewed do not establish who first used the term. Gartner uses it in its release of 1 July 2026, and a Gartner research abstract dated 30 June 2026 carries it in its title. The release does not claim that Gartner coined it.
What did Gartner say about $234 billion?
Gartner estimates that up to $234 billion of enterprise application spending is exposed to agentic arbitrage between now and 2030.
Is the $234 billion lost revenue?
The release does not say so. It describes the amount as exposed or at risk, and it gives no figure for how much spending will actually move.
Is the $234 billion an annual or a cumulative amount?
The release and the CIO article do not say. They describe a window, between now and 2030, without stating whether the amount is annual or cumulative.
What does 20% of enterprise SaaS spending refer to?
The release says that by 2030 the exposed amount will account for roughly 20% of enterprise application SaaS spending. It does not state the total spending figure behind that percentage.
Does agentic arbitrage mean SaaS is dead?
Gartner says it does not. The release says SaaS will not be destroyed and will emerge in a different form, and it describes the shift as a metamorphosis rather than an apocalypse.
How does agentic arbitrage affect per-seat pricing?
Gartner says agentic systems deliver outcomes directly and bypass user-experience-heavy applications, which breaks the link between user growth and revenue growth for many enterprise software vendors.
What should software vendors do about agentic arbitrage?
Gartner says incumbent vendors should move from interface-based value to outcome-based value, embed agentic capabilities at the point of execution, and capture and retain customer-specific knowledge, not just data.
What should buyers check in software contracts?
A CIO article reports Gartner advice to check whether an agent can do through a system’s API everything a person can do through its screens, whether the vendor’s terms permit it, and who owns what the system learns from the customer.
Is the Gartner estimate a measured result?
No. It is a forecast, and no published measurement of it was found as of 29 October 2026.
Which vendors have already changed how they charge for AI?
Several vendors have published changes to how they charge for AI features. Zendesk announced outcome-based pricing for AI agents on 28 August 2024, under which customers incur costs only for issues the AI resolves autonomously. Workday introduced Flex Credits on 16 September 2025, prepaid credits that can be applied to AI agents, AI features and platform capabilities. GitHub announced on 27 April 2026 that Copilot plans would move to usage-based billing on 1 June 2026, with credits consumed according to token usage. GitHub said agentic usage had raised compute and inference demands and that its earlier premium request model was no longer sustainable. None of the three announcements refers to Gartner’s forecast or to agentic arbitrage.
Sources
- Gartner. “Gartner Says $234 Billion in Enterprise Application Software Spend Is at Risk from Agentic AI.” 1 July 2026. Gartner newsroom press release. Accessed 29 October 2026.
- Gartner. “Agentic Arbitrage Is Making Enterprise SaaS Headless — Putting $234 Billion Up for Grabs.” 30 June 2026. Gartner research abstract. Accessed 29 October 2026 (abstract summary only; the full research is paywalled).
- CIO. “Agentic AI puts $234B in enterprise SaaS spending at risk, Gartner says.” 2 July 2026. CIO article. Accessed 29 October 2026.
- Zendesk. “Zendesk First in CX Industry to offer Outcome-Based Pricing for AI Agents.” 28 August 2024. Zendesk newsroom. Accessed 29 October 2026.
- Workday. “Introducing Workday Flex Credits: A Smarter, More Flexible Way to Access AI Innovation.” 16 September 2025. Workday blog. Accessed 29 October 2026.
- GitHub. “GitHub Copilot is moving to usage-based billing.” 27 April 2026. GitHub Blog. Accessed 29 October 2026.

